What is the IELTS Exam for?




What is the IELTS Exam for?

IELTS-Exam stands for International English Language Testing System. It is designed for the people who want to study or work abroad. The IELTS exam is accepted by over 10,000 organizations around the world, including universities, government agencies, schools, colleges, professional bodies, visa and immigration authorities. It assesses the candidate’s English proficiency in reading, listening, writing and speaking skills. The IELTS exam is organized by the British Council, IDP; IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment.


The IELTS Exam is divided into two versions: the IELTS Academic and the IELTS General Training. Both the versions are used to assess the test taker’s abilities in reading, writing, listening and speaking. The duration of the IELTS exam is 2 hours 45 minutes.


The IELTS Academic test is for the people who want to apply for higher education ( under graduation or post graduation ) and for professional registration.


The IELTS general training test is for people who want to migrate to Australia, Canada, the US, and the UK. And also for secondary education, training programs, work, in an English-speaking environment.


The IELTS exam can be taken on paper or a computer. The test taker can choose pen and paper-based IELTS or computer-delivered IELTS format based on their ability and requirement. In any format, listening, reading and writing tests are taken on one day. While the speaking test is a face-to-face interview with a trained IELTS examiner. The speaking test will be on the same day or before or after the other tests.


 The IELTS test is offered up to 4 times in more than 140 countries. The test results will be declared within 5-7 days after the test date. The IELTS test report provides overall band score for the test and band score for each of the 4 tests: listening, reading, writing and speaking. The band score ranges from 0-9. The overall band score is the average of the 4 tests. For band score 9, the skill level of the test taker is an Expert user. For band score 6, the test taker’s skill level is a competent user. Band score 1 represents Non-user. Most of the organizations and universities accept the band score of 6 or 7.


The test taker can register for the IELTS exam via online or through the British Council branch in various cities. At the time of registration, the test taker must provide identity proofs, address, and a photograph.

0 responses on "What is the IELTS Exam for?"

Leave a Message

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2018. All Rights are reserved
error: Content is protected !!
Skip to toolbar